Explore a Historical Adventure!

Welcome to our historic books website, where the past meets excitement! Dive into a treasure trove of captivating reads, explore enlightening articles, and embark on a journey of learning with books that unveil the secrets of historical events.

Spotlight Books of the Month

Image

Do You Know Them? Families Lost and Found After the Civil War

by Shana Keller


After the war's end, everyone is missing someone. Lettie's missing her family. They had been sold and lost long before enslavement was abolished. She saves every penny she earns hoping to bring her whole family together. Every ad depicted in this poignant tale is authentically historical, bringing the heart-wrenching past to life.

Ages 4 to 8

Find it in our bookshop here.

Image

A Suffragist’s Guide to the Antarctic

By Yi Shun Lai

A teen’s fight for suffrage turns into one of survival when her crew’s Antarctic expedition ship gets stuck in the ice in this historical novel set in 1914. Perfect for fans of Gary Paulsen and The Downstairs Girl.

Ages 12 and up

Get A Suffragist's Guide to the Antarctic today!

Image

The Girl Who Sang

by Estelle Nadel

A child at the mercy of her neighbors during a terrifying time in history, Estelle would weather loss, betrayal, near-execution, and spend two years away from the warmth of the sun--all before the age of eleven. And once the war was over, she would walk barefoot across European borders and find remnants of home in an Austrian displaced persons camp before finally crossing the Atlantic to arrive in New York City--a young woman carrying the unseen scars of war.

Ages 10 to 14

Get The Girl Who Sang here.

We're a bookstore and so much more!

We happily share articles and free printable activities on this website because we know the value of literacy and importance of history. And we appreciate the commitment you make to your kids' education.

While there is never any obligation to buy, your purchases from our carefully-curated, affiliate-based bookshop and

teaching resources help us to keep our mission - to make learning history fun - alive. Your book purchases also help to support local brick and mortar bookstores (instead of mega online retailers).

Thank you for your support.

Come And Make Them Smile.

Introducing children to historical books not only expands their knowledge of the past but also fosters a love for learning and an appreciation for different cultures and perspectives.

Three-Point Learning:

Historic Fiction

Fascinating Articles

Free Resources

  • Explore our comprehensive and continuously growing bookstore for entertaining historical fiction, classic novels, biographies and so much more. Our Shop is meticulously curated and sorted by time period to easily pair with a history lesson.

  • Our monthly Spotlight books are coordinated with relevant Articles from indie authors who performed extensive research on the time period.

  • Unlock even more learning potential with puzzles, coloring pages, activity packs and other Free Resources developed specifically to work with articles and books from our indie authors.

Did you know?

76%

children who regularly read historical books demonstrate a higher level of empathy towards diverse perspectives and exhibit greater understanding and tolerance.

25%

Children who engage in historical reading activities show a 25% improvement in critical thinking skills compared to those who do not, as evidenced by their enhanced ability to analyze and evaluate information.

15%

Studies indicate that students who read historical books perform 15% better in social studies and related subjects, showcasing the positive impact of historical reading on academic success and knowledge acquisition.

Join Our Literary Community: Showcase Your Book to a Captivated Audience

Connect with Readers and Amplify Your Reach

Are you an author of children's or young adult books with a passion for historical storytelling? Join our vibrant literary community and share your book with an engaged and captivated audience. Our platform provides a unique opportunity to connect with readers who have a deep appreciation for historical tales. Show off your literary masterpiece, spark meaningful conversations, and expand your reach as you become a part of our thriving community of history-loving authors.

Historical Categories

Come learn different events throughout history

Ancient History

Learn about early civilizations and ancient peoples like hunter-gatherers, Mesopotamia, Egypt, Greece, ancient China, and more.

Middle Ages

Get a glimpse into the chivalric world of knights and castles, kings and empires, countries created and crumbled.

Renaissance to New World

Step into the light with articles that reflect the classical learning and artistry of a new understanding of life; explore through the age of discovery, and celebrate voyages to the new world.

18th & 19th Century

Gain an understanding of historical events that took place around the world and at home, plus learn about inventions that sprang forth and changed the way we live during the Industrial Revolution

20th Century to present

Life picked up speed during the swiftly moving 20th century with world wars, flight and automobiles, space exploration, and the Information Age. Enjoy articles that take us right into the 21st century!

Teaching History

These articles are just for the teacher and focus on tips and techniques for using historic fiction as a learning tool.

Bring joy to reading

Discover the joy of reading with our website's purposeful offerings. Dive into engaging articles, curated reading recommendations, and free learning resources, all designed to enhance your educational journey. Unleash your potential with our comprehensive teaching materials.

Join our Newsletter

Welcome to our monthly newsletter! Stay up to date with the latest additions to our website, including new learning opportunities through our three-point learning approach.

Explore captivating stories, access free resources, and discover suggested reading materials all centered around educational historic topics. Plus, keep an eye out for special offers on valuable products that enhance your learning experience. Join our community and make history come alive!

© 2023. Historic Books for Kids - All Rights Reserved

Reading Pennsylvania, USA